Google Maps


I just read that Google Maps now have the option for generating a cycling route, or bicycling, as they call it on the site.  I went and checked it out to see how different it was to their car routes.  I made Robert Moses a destination and it “realised” that bicycles are not allowed over Robert Moses Causeway so had me going all the way along Fire Island.  I did a route to OBI (nr. Robert Moses) and it had me going via Jones Beach.  Technically, still not allowed along Ocean Parkway so may need to tell Google that.  It also gives alternative routes which is pretty impressive.  However, my main gripe is that you cannot download to the old GPS device – that would have been the most useful feature in the 21st century!!  Good attempt however.

Still in beta, by the way!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

