Recovery Ride


Today’s ride was to see how I reacted to the long ride yesterday.  I was only going to do normal 20km route.  Temperature was just above the 50F mark, so I decided to do it in shorts and two tops only.  The fingerless gloves were also going to make another appearance for the second time of the year.  I was also going to see how the new tyres really performed.

The wind made me think a lot.  I know there was some wind but I could not determine from which direction.  On some roads, the flags were flying from the north, on others they were flying from the west.  Regardless, I did not seem to get much benefit of the wind.

The two small hills seems a chore.  They weren’t feeling like a chore as I pedalled but my speed up them was low.  It seemed as if I didn’t have the energy to climb them.  Anyway, I got over them and think I put in my fastest time going down the hill for my second climb.  I was behind schedule as I reached the top of the first climb but just ahead after the second climb.  I maintained speed throughout the route.  It felt really short compared to all the other rides I have done of late so I decided to push myself once I reached Motor Parkway on the way back.  I slipped into top gear and pedalled down the slight hill.

Reaching the lights on Old Nicholls, I had six minutes in which to get back home to break the 49 minute mark.  I think I have only done that once and I had been hoping that the new tyres would have allowed me to do that.  I didn’t think it was going to be possible but I decided to give it a go, to see how close I could get.  I was not going to look at the timer until I reached the end of Walter and I had to be there with around the 47 minute mark to have any chance of getting home in under 49 minutes.  When I reached the end of Walter, the time was 45.x.  There was no traffic on Townline so I didn’t even stop at the junction and went straight out.  I got back to the front door on 47.21.  A record, methinks.

The ride felt good and the legs did not feel tired, despite the lethargy noticed on the hills.  It was a good ride.  I was pleased about the tyres and am confident I won’t get a puncture for some time. 🙂

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Recovery Ride”

  1. wb416 Says:

    Very nice follow up ride!

  2. Paul Murray Says:

    Thanks, Bob.

Leave a Reply

