A beautiful sunrise


The one thing I remember the most about today’s ride was the beautiful sunrise I saw pedalling along Motor Parkway. It made setting off in the dark all worthwhile. I also saw the Apple Blossoms on Motor Parkway coming back which makes me want to cycle there at lunchtime to take some photos.

Today’s ride was a 40km.  I am not sure why but I have only got one midweek ride this week.  I was working on the dive club website last night and got to bed after midnight so when the alarm went off at 5:50 I was in two minds about going cycling.  But I have a schedule I need to adhere to so I got up.

I didn’t think I had gone that fast today so I was quite surprised when I loaded up the ride on to the Mac and saw that I had gone five minutes faster than the last 40km ride I did two weeks ago.  There was no wind today so no benefitting from a tailwind.  It seemed to make a difference as it took ages to climb away from the 15 mph average.  I ended up with a 16 mph average which for this route is quite good as the service road for I495 is in really bad condition and I have take it slowly in parts.  I might create a new 40km ride.

The next ride is the 115km in New Jersey on Saturday.  It will be my first bike ride with a brevet card so I am excited about that.  I secretly wish I was doing the 200km but there is a nice coastal 200km ride at the end of the month which will be my official 200km ride for the brevet series.

The new tyres are holding out well so far.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

