Recovery ride


I have now started doing a 20km recovery ride after each long ride I do.  The idea is get my body used to the fact that it is cycling the day after a long, hard ride.  Today was no exception despite the fact that both Alma and I picked up a bug at The Dive Club meeting on Tuesday and have both been under the weather since Thursday evening.

I wasn’t sure where the wind was coming from but as soon as I hit the second hill I knew it was coming from either a southerly or south westerly direction – it hit me full on.  The second hill goes by the landfill so the wind flies over there and without any trees to filter it and slow it down, it can be brutal.  The first hill goes on the other side of the landfill but has more trees and is protected to a certain degree.  I finally got the benefit of the wind when I was going up Ocean Ave.

I felt stronger as the ride progressed but it did take a couple of minutes to get into the cycling.  As such, I posted my fastest time yet and almost beat the last fast recovery ride by two minutes.  I am well pleased with the recovery.  No riding till Wednesday now.

Oh, I forgot to post on the last blog; I recorded my fastest speed ever yesterday – 41.1mph.  When I got down to the bottom of the hill and was waiting to turn left at a red light, an old woman pulled up in a car and said, “That must have been fun!”  I replied saying it had indeed!!  That made me smile.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Recovery ride”

  1. wb416 Says:

    Speed is fun!

    I’m enjoying following your journey as you ramp up your distances!

  2. Paul Murray Says:

    Thanks, Bob. I am pleased someone is reading them!!! 😛

  3. Maureen Says:

    Hey Paul, just saw your brevet card post and took a look to see what it is all about. I saw your post about the recovery ride and want you to know that I am proud of you.

  4. Paul Murray Says:

    Thanks a lot, Maureen!!!

Leave a Reply

