Next brevet – 300k NYC


The next brevet for this year, and the final one, is the NYC 300k on September 5th.  It is one day before Alma’s birthday so I think we are spending the weekend in the city – have to see whereabouts exactly the ride starts from.  Two years ago it started  by the Youth Hostel on 103rd Street but I have a feeling it will actually start in New Jersey this year.  I am waiting to hear from the organiser.

I have yet to come up with a training schedule for the next two months.  I am currently reading “The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling” by Edmund R. Burke and Ed Pavelka.  This, I believe, will help me formulate a training schedule for the NJ brevet series and the PBP next year.  I will do a review of the book when I finished.  So my current training? I am just going out doing 25 mile bike rides during the week without any set days.  Yesterday and today I cycled in the evening as it feels as if I have just been too tired to get up early in the mornings.  This heat we are experiencing seems to drain all energy from me.  I’ll try and get up early tomorrow as I am scuba diving tomorrow evening and Saturday morning then we have a wedding to go to on Saturday afternoon/night.  Maybe out Sunday morning but we’ll see how I feel.  The World Cup final is Sunday afternoon.

I think the NYC 300k will have some hills.  It maybe the most hilly ride of the year so I shall have to start getting some hill work done.  That will probably mean doing rides that take me North and West towards Huntington and then take as many up and downs as I can.  I’ll look on MapMyRide and see what I can come up with.  I am also thinking about asking Alma to drop me off somewhere north of NYC and then cycle back home.  We shall see…

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

