Competing in the Tour de France


Ok, I am not really competing in the Tour de France, just virtually.  MapMyRide are holding a daily competition whereby you can cycle some miles and then see how well you did against the real boys, plus others on the site.  25 points are available for the best virtual winner, 24 points for second and all the way down to 2 points for 24th.  Everyone else gets 1 point just for riding.

So, on the 3rd July, when the Tour started, I went out for a ride.  As they were only doing a 9km time trial, I didn’t want to waste any time by submitting five miles getting to a fast stretch of the road so I broke my actual ride into three sections.  Getting to Nichol’s Road, riding Nichol’s Road and then getting back.  Riding Nichol’s Road was about 10 miles and I thought I had done it pretty fast.  No fast enough, so it seems.  The part of the ride I submitted I did at 20.85 mph and it lasted 10.59.  That converted to doing the time trial in 17 minutes.  I didn’t even beat Manuael Cardosa who did it in 16 minutes and 20 seconds – he must have had a mechanical problem.  The person in 24th position even beat that time by 13 minutes.  I guess I am not built for speed!!  What was interesting is that the person who finished first in the virtual ride had the same time, after conversion, as David Millar in 10 minutes 20 seconds.  I looked on his ride and he had a big descent.  Granted he had a climb of 1000 feet but still…

All this week I have been trying to get more than 1 point.  Every day I have failed though I am doing the rides quicker that I was at the beginning of the year.  I have decided I need more climbing and I need longer rides so tomorrow this is what I will do.  I have the day off as we go to NYC to celebrate our anniversary so before I go, I shall take a ride through Port Jefferson – doing the hill twice and then ending up on a flat for some fast riding.  We’ll see how it goes.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

