A few days to go…


On Sunday I have the last big ride of the year, the hilly 300k.  The weather looks promising, at least no rain, and hopefully the hurricane will have gone through on Saturday!!

I have not done any hill training but am not feeling apprehensive about it at all.  Maybe I am overestimating my abilities but I have always liked climbing hills and feel as if I have the perseverance within me to climb whatever is put in my way.  This morning I went up Village Lane – that is one of the roads I always go down, fast, and I thought at the weekend it was about time I started going up it.  The bad thing about going up is that it is on the western end of my route and to get back to the route I have to cross major traffic twice.  It is much easier if it is part of a right turn route.  I studied the map last night and found a way I can incorporate the climb up when I noticed another road beyond it that came back down.  That kept the right turns.

I went out this morning, forgetting my sunglasses.  I had all lights on as it was still a little dark.  The climb was a couple of miles into the ride so I was warmed up by the time I reached it.  As I come down the road at 35 mph I always think it is steep but it is not as steep as I imagined it to be.  I was puffing by the time I reached the top but I had been expecting a tougher climb.  Still, I think it is the best work out of the three roads that climb in that direction.  The road back down was straight and fast but because of the straightness, nothing exciting.

The rest of the ride was without incident, for me at least.  I passed an accident where a mini truck and a car had collided, thankfully it wasn’t me.  Tomorrow night I am going out with Suffolk Bicycle Riders Association.  I tried to go out with them two weeks ago but they left the parking lot at 6 on the dot.  I got there at 6:03.  Wish me luck with that!!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

