By heck, that were a cold ride


I had forgotten what sub freezing temperatures felt like when riding.  How could I have forgotten the initial pain on my face and forehead?  How could I have forgotten how the legs never warm up?  Somehow, I had.

With six inches of snow forecasted for tonight, today was the last chance of going outside for some time.  I haven’t cleared our driveway, there’s only an inch of snow on there, so I walked the bike down to the road.  The road was clear, for the most part.  The roads were actually pretty good and there were no icy patches that I had to be aware of.  No traffic problems either; I guess the two lights on the bike helped there.

My work effort was hard.  I was determined to beat last week’s time.  I did, but I felt powerless to put in any sort of effort.  It was too hard to really push myself.  It felt like I didn’t have the energy.  I am sure that is not just the cold but I will find out when I do an indoor session tomorrow.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

