Oh little spider


For my first bike ride since the operation, I was a bit apprehensive. I haven’t as much as even rode inside and was a bit concerned how the crown jewels would react. They were fine until about 12 miles into the ride though I don’t know if that was kidney pain or just the muscles of my admin.

A Spider's Journey

The spider being bounced around

I had a passenger for today’s ride. Not for all the way, unfortunately. When I was “flying” down Townline, I looked down at my handlebars and saw that there was this spider enjoying the breeze. It was grabbing on to a piece of its silk, a few inches from the handlebars. When I started going along the flat on Townline, it scampered back up the silk line and caught its breath on the handlebars. The next bump I came to it was back on the line again. Coming up to the traffic lights it was able to make it back to relative safety. As I was climbing the hill by the landfill (no, not St. James’ Park!), I lost sight of it. I was going to stop at the top and put it in my saddlebag. Needless to say, I did not go back looking for the spider. I do hope it is all right in its new home. The episode reminded me of Kate Bush’s A Coral Room when she sings, “Oh little spider climbing out of a broken jug”. I like spiders.

On to the ride. It was fairly warm: 43F when I set off. The snow still creeps out on to the sides of the road and there is a lot of salt on the road. It is positively boiling hot now!! I was fine for the most part. My time was still down but that is only to be expected. It was, however, quicker than the last time I did the route in January. I made sure of that. đŸ™‚ I still have a little twinge on my side but I’ll stretch that out later today. I am back out again tomorrow and will be doing a ride with the bike club. They will be taking a break somewhere so I am in a quandry about whether to take my own food, as I imagine wherever they stop will only have cereal based offerings. What do you say? I was going to take out the Specialized but with all that salt on the road, I’ll be taking Trekkie.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

