Running up that hill


If life was meant to be easy, there would be no need to get out of bed in the mornings. And, we would have a TV in the bedroom. However, we don’t have a TV in the bedroom and we don’t like an easy life. We strive to do better and we strive to do more than yesterday. Many days we fail but we always get up the next morning armed with the same intent. There’s no sleeping till after noon in this house!! šŸ˜›

The CTS training is tough. I could easily go through life without doing. Last Thursday I found it really hard going. The third and fourth interval I struggled to keep up the the correct cadence and sought an easier gear. An easier gear means cycling faster to achieve the same power output. The objective is to have a certain output with a certain cadence. There is not much room for slippage so there is probably only one gear that will give that output. Moving to an easier gear inevitably meant I was not going to meet the objective but my objective for last Thursday changed and I just wanted to to finish the session without quitting. I was happy with the changed objective as quitting is no option.

Today’s session was easier. It was still tough and I was pushing hard during the last interval but I was not flagging from the second interval as I was Thursday. The distance travelled today was further than Thursday but not as far as last Tuesday. I am questioning last Tuesday’s stats as I was cycling with Alma’s profile on the computer so not too sure if that made a difference to power output. It’ll become more obvious the more rides I do on the bike.

My first hilly brevet is not until the end of April so it will be interesting to see how I do on that. I have not done the Princeton 200k as one ride but I have done the whole route on two separate rides. Adamic Hill Road is the big one and I didn’t find it that bad last year when I did it on a short 80km. When I say not that bad, I meant I was expecting worse. It was pretty steep. I want to see how I climb it this year and with a whole month of CTS training behind me I may actually enjoy it. šŸ™‚

I think one more ride this week on Thursday. I need to change saddles before that and will be writing to Specialized as I have never had markings on my bum like I have from Sunday’s ride!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

