A balancing act


On both Wednesday and Thursday mornings, I sat up in bed and the room started spinning for a few seconds. It was so disconcerting that I made an appointment at the doctor’s to get it checked out. With cycling and scuba diving my two main activities, a loss of balance would not bode well with me. I got up early yesterday morning and sat by the back door with a nice cup of tea and reflected on the meaning of it all.

So I went to the doctor’s and he checked me out with his array of tools. He asked me to do some balancing acts and hand eye co-ordination exercises, all of which I successfully accomplished. He seemed quite satisfied that I did not have anything seriously wrong. I asked if I was able to go cycling and scuba diving still and he said if I was to go scuba diving that afternoon he would say no but for next week, sure, no problem. He seemed to think it was a temporary condition. I left, feeling a lot happier, but having to go back on Wednesday for a full medical check up. Last night as I went to lay down in bed, the room began spinning for a few seconds. That was new as it had only happened sitting up before.

This morning, I gingerly sat up in bed and the room did not spin. I was so happy. I put on my cycling clothes and went out for a short spin. I did 21 miles or so and felt quite good. No funky movements of the road or cars so I was really, really pleased.

Next weekend I am to do my first scuba diving plunge of the year, at Ponquogue Bridge. Fingers crossed.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

