Namaste for me and one for you


Finally, after years of neglect, I got the not so old Specialized out for the short ride to Yoga. Of course it was raining out, and dark, so I had to prepare for that. And the tyres were a little bit soft. Could I find the connectors for my two rear side lights? Nope. Could not. I don’t know where they are. I found one broken one but it was of no use. That meant I had to put the big pannier on the back as that has the remaining light tied on. Then I had to thread the wiring for the dynamo light and with my fingers still not fully recovered from France, that was fiddly. I even had to go upstairs for my glasses so I could see the connector for the wire. Getting old really sucks!!

Finally I was ready to set off. This was my first exercise since the diet started Wednesday last week. Getting in shape for a triathlon next year so need to get down to a running weight which is a lot less than my cycling weight. Once half the weight has gone then I’ll start running a couple of times a week.

So, back on the bike. This was my second time out on the bike since France. I have done CTS a number of times but the bike is stationary and I don’t have to worry about my balance. Going down our street, I felt the fact that I hadn’t been on the road in a while with the darkness only highlighting the unfamiliarity. The legs took some time to get going and the diet, with its 1,000 calories per day max, made the legs feel heavy. However, I was soon back in the swing of things, if not exactly breaking any speed records.

Yoga was delicious. It was good to be back on the mat which had been rolled up and tied up with the belt ever since I got back from the last session in May. The stretches felt really, really good. My body needed them. More yoga!!

Coming back I have always gone more slowly than when I am going to yoga. It seems like my legs are still in namaste and don’t want to do any more work. Tough! They need to get me home.

I have missed cycling and will be climbing back on board again soon.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

