Hill acceleration training


This week I have switched to the Climbing Power workouts in the Carmichael Training Climbing Series. I remember this findly from last year. The workouts are really intense but provide great rewards. I attributed the dropping of a couple of cyclists on one of the hills in last year’s PBP to this training. They were drafting behind me and not willing to share the lead so on the next climb I pushed. These intervals are high intensity for two minutes and after one minute I heard them break as I continued the maximum effort on the second minute. Such sweet pleasure.

Anyway, yesterday, I ran out of steam on the 4th hill acceleration interval. With 15 seconds left of the workout, apart from the 8 minute recovery spin, I ran out of steam. It was all I could do to keep pedalling. Back to back sessions are only recommended for experience cyclists. I consider myself experienced, a bit, so wanted to see how I could do today. I like setting myself little goals like this. Today I was determined not to run out of steam.

By the 5th and 6th intervals of the first set, I was beginning to feel the effort. A five minute recovery spin did not bring my heart rate back down to below 109 which it was yesterday. The first hill acceleration was toughened out and I did not make a full recovery. Was even worse than yesterday. This workout is designed not to allow full recovery between intervals. The second and third intervals went by and I was really feeling drained. The 4th, the last, one came and I was bound and determined not to run out of steam. I kept pushing myself and managed the final 30 seconds without running out of steam. My heart rate was in the high 170s.

It had been tough but I really liked it. Day off tomorrow!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Hill acceleration training”

  1. bgddyjim Says:

    You climbers always amaze me… I hate hills with a passion…not enough to keep me from riding, but more than enough to not do them over and over again.

    • Paul Murray Says:

      Hey, Jim, I have grown to really love hills. I grew up on Tyneside in England where more or less every street is on a hill. Here on Long Island, it is as flat as a pancake, so if it wasn’t for the indoor bike I would be hill deprived. 🙂 On my big ride of last year, the hills got easy except the big one on the third night. After that, I started sailing up them. This season, having dropped a few pounds, they should be even easier (I hope).

      • bgddyjim Says:

        I grew up in Pennsylvania – same thing there, crazy hills. Southeastern Michigan on the other hand, is tame by comparison which I like…but the ability that you described, to leave those no good wheel suckers in the dust, that’s got some validity to it. Sure got me thinking.

        Thanks.

Leave a Reply

