To Hell and Back


So, midst the dark dreary days of December, on a rainy weekend day just before our trip to Mexico, I had the option to ride a 100 km route to keep the P-12 going. A P-12 is riding a 100-199 km ride each month for twelve consecutive months. As I lay in bed, I decided to ride it the weekend we got back from Mexico, no matter the weather. Such a poor decision…

After two weeks in Mexico, we returned to WA on the Thursday after Christmas. I went to the bathroom first thing Friday morning, as normal. I went to the bathroom again later on in the morning. I went to the bathroom again at midday. Not good! Riding that Friday was out. Maybe it would clear up by the Saturday, you know how these things can quickly sort themselves out.

Saturday came with more visits to the bathroom. New Year’s Eve? Even more visits. Bang went my P-12 but that was the least of my concern by now. Monday went the same way. A visit to urgent care on Tuesday, got a 3 day course of antibiotics to treat the pain in my abdomen. The pain subsided but the visits to the bathroom did not.

Anyway, to tell a long story short, after many visits to the hospital, and thousands of toilet rolls used, I went to a natural health doctor at the beginning of March, and he gave me charcoal supplements and probiotics. Lo and behold, things started to clear up and this month, April, I got back on the bicycle again. Over 100 days off!

Tags:

Leave a comment